Officials receive writs for referendum

Returning officers and deputies appointed

Returning officers for the six electoral districts received their certificate of appointment from Governor Duncan Taylor plus a Writ of Referendum last week. Supervisor of Elections Kearney Gomez presented the documents to the five officers and their deputies in Grand Cayman on 23 May, and to the officers in Cayman Brac on 25 May.  

The writ explains that the governor deems it expedient to hold a referendum to determine whether voters support an electoral system of single-member constituencies with each elector being entitled to cast only one vote. Further, the writ requires each returning officer to cause a poll of the electorate in his or her district between 7am and 6pm on 18 July, 2012, and then to assist in the counting of votes cast.  

The counting of the ballots should go relatively quickly because there is only one question on the referendum, Mr. Gomez noted. But because postal ballots are returned in sealed envelopes within the mailing envelopes, they require a little more time to process than ballots cast in person on the polling day. The count of ballots is scheduled to start at 7pm and, depending on the number of postal ballots, the results could be known either side of midnight.  

All of the returning officers have experience in previous polls, but those in Grand Cayman and their deputies are attending evening training sessions. Officials for Cayman Brac and Little Cayman have two, eight-hour days of training scheduled. 

The returning officers and their deputies are listed by district. 


WEST BAY: Delano O. Solomon. Deputies Joan Steer, Dale Ramoon, Philip M. Jackson, Wesley R. Howell. 

  GEORGE TOWN: Edward (Ned) Solomon. Deputies Gilbert Connolly, Adrian Estwick, Carmena Watler, Dorothy J. Scott, Shirley Lynne Whittaker, Burke Omar McLean. 

  BODDEN TOWN: Tristan Hydes. Deputies Fred Sambula, Dolcy Ilone Powery, Haroon Pandohie. 

  NORTH SIDE: Aliceann Kirchman. 

EAST END: Philip A. Barnes.  

CAYMAN BRAC AND LITTLE CAYMAN: Dave Talbert Tatum. Deputy Janice Bradshaw. 

referendum returning officers

Returning officers for Grand Cayman display their writs for the 18 July referendum. From left, are Ned Solomon, Aliceann Kirchman, Tristan Hydes, Delano Solomon and Philip Barnes. Supervisor of Elections Kearney Gomez, at far right, holds the writ for Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. – Photo: Carol Winker

Comments are closed.