Fidelity boosted community vibe

The Fidelity Fun Run series was a great way to get people active again after the summer break and the organisers were extremely happy with the record turnouts that saw over 200 involved in the three races.

The two-mile course started beside the old John Gray High School on Walkers Road and finished at nearby Denham Thompson Way.

Andrew Keast was overall third, Chadwick Webster fourth and David Walker fifth. In the women’s category, Tiffany Cole, 15, was the overall winner, with Lucy Nicklas second and Laura Knox third. There were plenty of walkers, strollers and owners with their dogs so the community spirit really shone through.

Fidelity vice-president Tom Gammage won the men’s 40-49 age group. He said: “The number of participants at the final fun run was, like the previous, around 220, which is quite a bit up on previous fun run series. In total there were 326 separate participants over the whole series.

“The response was overwhelmingly positive and we are glad that so many people have enjoyed the series and come out to participate.”

All three races were won by Dominic Corbin, who edged out perennial champ Marius Acker.

“We offered complimentary entry to some of the younger track athletes this year and it was good to see so many of them participating in the series,” said Gammage.

“Youngsters like Tiffany Cole, Tahj Lewis and Kiara McLaughlin did particularly well and featured high up in the overall standings as well as within their own age categories. Rowan McLean (aged 10) only started running three weeks ago and improved each week to end up winning the under-12 category.

“There were some pretty amazing times in the stroller and pet categories as well, with both Neal Coleman (stroller) and Greg Meaker (pet) getting under 12 minutes in the last race. Running under six minute mile pace isn’t too bad when you’re pushing a pram or trying to avoid tripping over your dog!”

Gammage thanked the Phoenix Athletic Club, Race Caribbean, Jacques Scott, Fidelity staff, the media and all others who contributed to the smooth running of the series.

Award winners:

Male Overall

1.Dominic Corbin

2.Marius Acker

3.Andrew Keast

Female Overall

1.Tiffany Cole

2.Lucy Nicklas

3.Laura Knox

Male under 12

1.Rowan McLean

2.Ammani Battiste

3.Taj Yen

Female under 12

1.Amanda Ehman

2.Shayana Windsor

3.Isabela Morais

Male 12-14

1.Tahj Lewis

2.Delano Callender

3.Jeavhon Jackson

Female 12-14

1.Kiara McLaughlin

2.Megan Ehman

3.Lindsay Blair

Male 15-19

1.Rajay Reid

2.Jamie Montero

3.Pablo Brito

Female 15-19

1.Ashley McLean

2.Kerryann Simpson

3.Chantelle Morrison

Male 20-29

1.Carl Grant

2.Kendall Ebanks

3.Leon Barracks

Female 20-29

1.Jennifer Smith

2.Stacey Mathis

3.Dee-an Foster

Male 30-39

1.Chadwick Webster

2.David Walker

3.Gavin McMaster

Female 30-39

1.Shelley White

2.Julie Proud

3.Marcella Zawistoski

Male 40-49

1.Tom Gammage

2.David Burnstein

3.Bill Fleury

Female 40-49

1.Pat McCallum

2.Ann Jones

3.Maria Manuela Alves

Male 50-59

1.Eamon McErlean

2.Geoff Cornwall

3.John McKibben

Female 50-59

1.Annick Pasquali

2.Tina McLaughlin

3.Jessie Dickson

Male 60+

1.Roger Davies

2.Wil Steward

3.Charles Watler

Female 60+

1.Mavis Davies


1.Neal Coleman

2.Richard Harrison

3.Jason Windsor


1.Rodger Yeomans

2.Teresa Strad

3.Greg Meaker

There were plenty of walkers, strollers and owners with their dogs so the community spirit really shone through.

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now