GT will rally to stay champs

George Town Primary defends their 2011/12 Opening Rally title as the new CUC Primary Football League season kicks-off with the always thrilling Opening Rally this weekend.

The action starts at the TE McField Annex field on Saturday from 9am.

It was only a year ago that George Town Primary edged Sir John A. Cumber Primary 1-0 in an exciting encounter to claim the Opening Rally, which marked the first of two titles for GT.

The difference between the two teams on that day was D’Andre Rowe who not only scored the winner for George Town Primary but later claimed the finals ‘Most Valuable Player Award’ at the trophy presentation following the game. Rowe has since moved on to high school, which should spell some relief for primary school defenders.

George Town Primary went on to lift the Under-11 Champions Cup in February, once again defeating Sir John A. Cumber Primary in the final, this time 2-0.

The Opening Rally has always been highly entertaining and very competitive with 15 schools competing this year including defending champions George Town, runners-up Sir John A. Cumber Primary, third-placed St. Ignatius Prep and fourth-placed Triple C.

Other schools competing include Grace Academy, Prospect Primary, Truth For Youth, Red Bay Primary, South Sound Schools, Cayman International School, Savannah Primary, NorthEast Schools, Bodden Town Primary, Cayman Prep and Cayman Brac.

Cayman Brac participates for the second year in a row and the PFL Committee is pleased to welcome back the boys from the Sister Island.

The Opening Rally is a fast-paced, highly entertaining tournament with games as short as 10 minutes per half with no offsides. Games must end with a winner. If games are tied at the end of the 20 minutes, it’s a penalty shoot-out.

The first round is the group stage with schools being divided into three groups of four and one group of three. Schools play each other once in their respective groups with the two top teams from each group advancing to the second round – the knockout stage. From here, the semi-finalists are decided with the winners advancing to the final and the losers playing for third and fourth place.

Organiser Neil Murray said: “The Primary Football League Committee encourages fans of the powerful game and youth sports in general to make their way to the TE McField Annex field this Saturday and cheer on our young athletes.

“Special thanks to contributing sponsors Progressive Distributors, the CUC Primary Football League’s exclusive provider of Gatorade and Hydes and Sons for last year donating the goals used in the Opening Rally and the PFL Playoffs.”

Comments are closed.