Beefy bows out but set for more all round action

At the Cayman Islands Cricket Associations recently held annual general meeting new members were elected and re-elected to serve as officers and members.

Courtney Myles remains as president.

Vice-president is Stephen Best, secretary is Sheila Rankine and treasurer is Robert Cox. Ivan Burges, Odette Campbell, Ronald Ebanks, Rajpal Hemraj and Abali Hoilett are members.

The major change was the retirement of long serving treasuer, Ian ‘Beefy’ Goodall who decided after ten years services that it was time to call it a day and the vacant position was taken over by Cox who was elected unopposed.

The association held a fund raising raffle which produced a profit of some US$6,000.

The lucky prize winners were Stephanie Dilbert, Ronnie Dixon, Craig Connor, Sacha De Alwis, James E Parsons, Denia Swaby, Maggie Garnett, Rosemarie Wilson, Fayanne Elliott and Gaston Moloney.

Sponsors who helped with this fund raising by donating prizes were LIME, Cayman Airways, Prime, Casanova’s, Comfort Suites and Bodyworks.

The season is due to start next month, a new clay pitch has been laid at the Smith Road ground.

The men’s national team will be in March participating in an International Cricket Council, Americas T20 Championships in Florida.

A 15 man squad from the world famous Marylebone Cricket Club from the United kingdom visit in April. On an 11 day tour they will be playing six matches and conducting coaching clinics.

Cayman Islands women cricketers have been invited to a tournament in Atlanta in April. Bahamas Under-15 are scheduled to visit on a developmental tour in May.

For more information on the Cayman Islands Cricket Association please contact Theo Cuffy, Cricket Director at [email protected]