Barcadere Classic reels them in

The Cayman Islands Angling Club will be staging this year’s first fishing tournament, the Barcadere Classic. Slated for 9 and 10 February, fishing hours are 6am-4pm with weigh-in taking place on Saturday and Sunday at 4-5.30pm at the Barcadere Marina.

Wahoo is the featured species, with $6,000 on offer for the heaviest catch and an extra $10,000 for the fish that breaks the local record. The existing record is 146 pounds, 2 ounces and was set by Elvet Conolly on a 130-pound test rod in 2007.

This year’s second heaviest wahoo earns $3,000 and the third heaviest nabs $1,000. The top two dolphin and yellowfin tuna catches earn $2,000 and $1,000. The boat with the most cumulative weight over the two fishing days gets a $500 fuel voucher/gift from Scott’s Landing. The heaviest fish each day results in Costa sunglasses and a voucher from Scott Marine.

Guy Harvey artwork is awarded for the most marlin releases. The top female angler gets a free spa treatment and the best junior angler receives a rod and reel combination. A raffle is on offer with the first prize being two tickets to any Cayman Airways destination, while a Samsung Galaxy phone is the second prize.

Last year, Waylon Bush had the heaviest catch with a 93.5lb tuna aboard I and I, alongside crew members Franklin Kerr and Stephen Ebanks. Second place in the tuna segment went to Jason Powery of Morning Spirit while Eric Maierhofer, aboard Run Around, reeled in the heaviest wahoo at 67.7lbs.

In the wahoo segment, Rob Jones of Strikeforce had a 67.2lb catch and Simon Wetherell of Team Tukka had a 63.1lb fish.

Daniel Kirkconnell of Blue Diamond had the heaviest dolphin at 27.9lbs. Leon Dilbert of Miss Nyah was second at 25.5lbs.

Last year’s top lady angler was Jenny Elvidge of Kai One On, the top junior angler was Alyssa Cayasso of Topless and Al Parsons of Strikeforce had the most marlin releases.

The fifth annual Barcadere Classic is in support of the Guy Harvey Foundation and offers registration this Friday, 7 February, at the George Town Yacht Club at 7pm. There is a fee of $300 for each team of four anglers.

The awards ceremony is next Tuesday, 12 February, at 7pm at the George Town Yacht Club.

Comments are closed.