Lawson drives for Dominican greens

Local golfers are swinging for regional foes. 

The 18th annual Caribbean Golf Classic, an event organized by FEDOGOLF (the Dominican golf organization) and conducted by the Caribbean Golf Association, takes place 17-21 April in the Dominican Republic.  

The tournament is being played on Casa de Campo’s three most famous Pete Dye designed golf courses: Teeth of the Dog, Links and Dye Fore. 

Cayman is one of 10 participating member countries in the golf association, with the other nations being: Bahamas, Barbados, Dominican Republic, Jamaica, Organization of Eastern Caribbean States, Puerto Rico, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos and the US Virgin Islands. 

Cayman’s ladies team was selected on 9 February by the Dessie Henry Qualifier to compete in the Dessie Henry Trophy. Isabel Lawson, Elaine Stokee, Diane Brazelton and Heather Hardy constitute the squad. 

Lawson, the winner of the women’s flight in 2011, said: “I am excited to represent the Cayman Islands at one of the top events for golf in the Caribbean. The tournament provides a great opportunity to showcase the talent of our Island’s golfers and continue to build relationships with other players from around the Caribbean.” 

Cayman’s top male players in the local qualifier for the various men’s flights were Cormac Sheehan, Andy Newton, Bob Slatter and Chaz Thomas. 

The Caribbean Golf Classic is an international event played individually and in teams, integrating an unlimited number of players from each country. Men will be competing for the Robert Grell trophy, whilst the ladies will be competing for the Dessie Henry trophy. A third category, named “Ladies Team Championship,” will be played to win the Jodi Munn Barrow trophy. 

Teams and players from each participating country will play 18 holes each day. Players are divided into flights, based upon handicap and gender, and play a Modified Stableford competition.  

In each flight, the range of handicap is five strokes. Within each flight all competitors compete equally and no handicap allowance is given. Individual prizes will be awarded in each flight. The team/country with the most points wins the George Noon Cup. 

Comments are closed.