Misfits set to end Digicel call

The Digicel Dynamos will be looking to end their year on a high note. 

The top seed plays The Misfits in the D league championship game on field two at the Field of Dreams on Monday, 13 May, at 6.30pm. The contest is part of the Cayman Islands Little League Association’s 2013 Winter Adult Co-Ed Softball League. 

Digicel, behind athletes like Brad Conolly and Rhys Ebanks, won the regular season title at 7-4-1. From there, the Dynamos would defeat 6-6 G-Force, featuring TV personality Kevin Morales, to clinch a finals berth last Thursday. 

Hemant Balgobin guided The Misfits, a rookie squad, to a 7-4-1 regular season record. Balgobin and crew ended their league round robin playoffs last Thursday with an 11-10 loss to Karl Preuss and the PwC Scorpions. 

Monday’s final will mark the official end of the softball campaign. The league’s three other groups crowned champions over the last two weeks. KPMG A claimed the A division title by beating Home Gas, 14-9. The rematch of last Fall’s finale saw Doug Harrell’s fighting accountants earn revenge and prevent Ryan Ebanks and company from nabbing a 12th championship. 

Coors Light Chuggers, behind Donnie House, repeated as B league winners by crushing Maples Sluggers, 14-3, last Thursday. Coors Light, who were a competition-best 10-1-1, will now take up the challenge to move up to the top flight after stopping another solid postseason campaign by Shawn Pitterson, David ‘Baggy’ Taylor and company. 

Another top seed came out victorious last Tuesday as PwC B clobbered Dart, 21-12. PwC, featuring speedster Scott Murray, were 9-2 during the season to finish ahead of Jerome Tivey’s 8-4 Dart. It seems Dart will be a factor on the diamond for years to come as the squad won division four last Fall.