Bar association elects council

Dale Crowley continues as president

The Caymanian Bar Association returned Dale Crowley as president when members elected the 2013-2014 council during the recent annual general meeting. 

Abraham Thoppil was chosen vice president and Brett Basdeo treasurer. Outgoing secretary Winston Connolly was succeeded by Nick Joseph. 

Returning ordinary members Neil Timms QC, Nick Rogers and Anna Goubault have been joined by newly elected Martin Davies.  

Mr. Crowley observed that the annual elections offer the membership an opportunity to reshuffle the deck and install members they feel will build on the works of past councils. 

“It is humbling that they have chosen to re-elect many of the original team and we will continue to work together for the betterment of the profession for Caymanians,” he pledged. 

- Advertisement -

“We wish to thank Winston Connolly, Rosie Whittaker-Myles and Andre Ebanks for their hard work and dedication over the past year and look forward to their continued involvement with the CBA,” Mr. Crowley added. 

The Caymanian Bar Association was established in 1988 after senior Caymanian attorneys perceived the need for an organisation to address issues of particular relevance to Caymanian attorneys and effectively to represent the views of Caymanian attorneys who were, and are, a minority in the profession in the Cayman Islands.  

To that end all Caymanians, as defined in the Immigration Law (2012 Revision), who are admitted to practise as an attorney in the Cayman Islands and possess a current practising certificate, are eligible to be members of the CBA. 

Most Caymanian attorneys who are eligible have joined the CBA, and the organisation currently represents the interests of more than 140 Caymanian attorneys. 


Caymanian Bar Association Council members are, from left, Martin Davies, Anna Goubault, Nick Rogers, Dale Crowley, Brett Basdeo, Abraham Thoppil, Neil Timms and Nick Joseph. – Photo: Submitted
- Advertisement -

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now