Racers rev up for new season

Local motorsports is shifting back into gear. 

The Cayman Motorsports Association is staging its first autocross race for 2014. The monthly Time Attack series launches on Sunday, Feb. 23, from 1 p.m. at the Progressive Loop in George Town. Sponsored by Toyo Tires, event registration takes place on Friday, Feb. 21, from 7 p.m. at Automotive Art. 

The association hopes to capitalize on the excitement around the sport from the 2013 season finale. The Al and Jay Bodden Memorial race took place for the first time on a public road – Huldah Avenue in George Town near the Smith Road Oval – as part of the Drive Cayman spectacle, which focused on driver safety. 

Gary Huggins won the Unlimited division behind the wheel of his Kimmar Distributors Toyota Starlet while A.J. Conolly ran his Mitsubishi Evolution VIII to the Street class crown. Association president Bobby Hulse was second to Huggins in a black Toyota Altezza, Marcus Huggins would share seat time with dad Gary in the Starlet and finish third. There were four other competitors in the group in association vice president Jimel McLean and the Flower Power Starlet, Gabe Powell in his Evo III, Mike Weatherford in his Subari Impreza and Tom Kirkconnell in the Automotive Art Mazda RX-7. 

In the street category, Conolly beat out Reynaldo ‘Aldo’ Powery in his Nissan Primera and Andy Bodden in his Evo V. Five other drivers carved up corners in Ajoni Ambersley and his Nissan Primera, Tyson McCoy in a Honda Integra Type-R, Kody Miller in a Ford Ranger truck and Neil Dilbert and Drew Conolly in a Honda Civic. 

Outside of the Al and Jay Bodden Memorial, the 2013 season saw some relative newcomers produce stellar outings. Among those of note are Craig Burke in his Subaru Impreza and Troy Brady in a Evo VIII. 


Kody Miller turned heads with his truck last season. – PHOTO: MATTHEW YATES

Comments are closed.