Wanderers wrap up in style

The curtain came down on another Heineken Sunday League season at the weekend with winners Fidel Wanderers being presented with the league championship trophy. 

It was a deserved reward for the reigning champions who became the only side to successfully defend their Sunday league crown and they did so in style by leading the league from the first round of fixtures and defeated only once all season.  

Wanderers were entertaining, displaying the most prolific attack and the meanest defence in the league – on average conceding less than one goal and scoring over three and a half per game.  

A satisfied Wanderers captain, Rob Moorhead said, “It’s been a great season for us so far, defending the title from last season was always going to be challenging especially as we lost some important team members from last year’s squad but the new guys came in and stepped up to the mark which was really important.”  

He added, “It’s been very much a squad effort this season with the strength in depth from our bench being one reason for our win.” 

They finished their league campaign by defeating Shellaz 6-1 at Ed Bush in West Bay. The champions didn’t have it all their own way however, with Shellaz holding a 1-0 half-time lead through a 16th minute Chris Clarke strike.  

Afterwards, the Shellaz goal led a charmed life with their captain and stand-in goalkeeper Steve Dunkley playing an unorthodox, but highly effective keeper/sweeper role behind his defenders that frustrated the Wanderers attack. Dunkley made some great saves to keep his side in the lead by half-time.  

The second-half turned out to be a different story with the Shellaz players tiring in the searing morning temperatures. 

Wanderers scored six times with chief tormentor Kiegel ‘Stamma’ Atkinson claiming a hat-trick.  

Cohen Daley scored the equalizer with a header on 47 minutes. Atkinson then claimed his first when he avoided offside and took the ball around Dunkley.  

A change of keeper for Shellaz didn’t stem the tide as the goals kept flying in with Atkinson getting his second before Alan Glasgow swept the ball home from inside the box as the Shellaz resistance crumbled.  

Anthony Williams tapped home at the back post after further good work from Atkinson and then the striker got Wanderers’ sixth two minutes from time with a mazy run finished around the keeper again.  

The hat-trick moved Atkinson’s tally onto an impressive 27 league goals for the season which won him the league’s Golden Boot Trophy, over twice as many as his nearest rival, Rodrick Pearson of Boca Juniors, who’d scored 12. 

Despite losing 4-0 to Luca Zaino on Sunday at Ed Bush, the runners-up spot in the league was claimed by Maples Revolution who finished above CML Claymores on goal difference.  

After a bright start to the season, Maples had high hopes but their title credentials tailed off in the second-half of the campaign.  

Maples player-manger Trevor Murphy slammed the ball home into the top corner for the first goal – but it was past his own keeper to gift Luca the lead after 26 minutes.  

Luca went two up four minutes later when Nelson Isabel pounced to fire home after good build up play. Luca Polloni made it 3-0 before half-time.  

Despite a Maples revival, Delano Mitchell secured the 4-0 win in the second half.  

Boca Juniors enjoyed a 4-1 victory against an out of form Harry’s at the TE McField Annex.  

Boca’s goals came from Rodrick Pearson who claimed a brace, midfielder Raymond Grant and Brandon Browning. Harry’s consolation strike was from Whetac Hynds. 

Elsewhere, CML claymores warmed up for the CML Cup Final with a routine 2-0 victory against Fidel’s Old Boys. The Claymores goals came from Matt Kitching and Darnell Hanley. 

This weekend is the end of the Sunday League season with the CML Cup Final. League winners Fidel Wanderers aim to add the cup to the league trophy, but they will be in for a stern test against the CML Claymores.  

The game kicks off at 9 a.m. at the Annex. 


Fidel Wanderers Heineken Sunday League winners season, back, from left, George Thomas, Sean Hill, Alan Glasgow, Emmanuel Brown, Cohen Daley, Rob Moorhead (capt.), Sheenon Hanna, Dain Currie, Sean Kelly, Kiegel ‘Stamma’ Atkinson, Jon Cubbon (Heineken rep), and Narval ‘Peppe’ Buchanan. Front, Padraig Brosnan, Alexander ‘Junior’ Dunn, Joe Wright, Gabre ‘Teko’ Dickens, Anthony Williams, Derron Campbell, Joaquim ‘Jocky’ Martins, and Rowan Hunt.

Comments are closed.