Caymanian Bar Association council reflects diversity

Members of the Caymanian Bar Association have selected their council for the new year and returned Abraham Thoppil as president. The council was named at the annual general meeting on Feb. 25. 

“The new council has 10 members representing seven different law firms/sole practitioners on the island,” Mr. Thoppil said. “It is hoped that this diversity will better reflect the ever-growing Caymanian legal fraternity, and we look forward to working together this year with members of the CBA, the Cayman Islands Law Society and other stakeholders in our endeavor to progress the legal industry of the Cayman Islands.” 

Outgoing vice-president Brett Basdeo was succeeded by Nick Rogers. Neil Timms was returned as treasurer and Nick Joseph was chosen as secretary. 

Returning council members Anna Goubault and Stephen Watler have been joined by newly elected Erik Bodden, Nikhil Jha, Ridhiima Kapoor and Alison Maxwell.  

Mr. Thoppil thanked Mr. Basdeo, Dale Crowley, Sharon Roulstone and Sophia Scott for their hard work and dedication over the past year. He said he looked forward to their continued involvement with the association. 

- Advertisement -

The Caymanian Bar Association was established in 1988 after senior Caymanian attorneys perceived the need for an organization to address issues of particular relevance to Caymanian attorneys and effectively to represent the views of Caymanian attorneys who were, and are, a minority in the profession in the Cayman Islands. 

All Caymanians, as defined in the Immigration law (2014 Revision), who are admitted to practice as an attorney in the Cayman Islands and possess a current practising certificate, are eligible to be members of the CBA. 

- Advertisement -

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now