Registration for public schools open

The registration of students enrolling in or transferring to government schools for the 2015/2016 school year is now open until June 26. 

Officials are urging parents and guardians to enrol children as soon as possible to ensure they have a place at their local schools in September. According to the Ministry of Education, children who are registered after the June 26 deadline are not guaranteed a place at their nearest school.  

Class sizes are capped for reception and Year 1 at 24 students and 28 for all other year groups.  

“Where maximum class sizes are exceeded within the school, spaces will be offered for qualifying students at the nearest school with available space. Spaces for categories 3 and 4 above will be reviewed following the 26th June closure of registration,” according to a statement issued by the ministry last week. 

Registration is open for qualifying children who are aged 4 years before Sept. 1 at reception classes in public schools. Registration for Year 1 in government schools is also open for children aged 5 years before Sept. 1, 2015.  

Registration for older students transferring into the government school system should also be completed by the June 26 deadline, officials said, in order for the child to be eligible to attend school at the start of the school year.  

Registration will take place at the Department of Education Services on Grand Cayman and the Cayman Brac Teacher’s Centre. Parents can pick up registration forms at government schools, the Department of Education Services, at 130 Thomas Russell Way, George Town or the Cayman Brac Teacher’s Centre.  

Once forms are completed, they should be returned to the Department of Education Services or the Cayman Brac Teacher’s Centre, with a copy of the child’s birth certificate, immunization card; documentation of child’s residency, (i.e., birth certificate, passport, status letter/certificate, RS 101 form), and proof of address. 

The last school year’s report (if the child is transferring from another school, including private schools) is also required. In the case of transfer to John Gray or Clifton Hunter high schools, a transcript from the last school should be included. 

“The Department of Education Services Customer Service staff will check the documentation and determine the designated catchment area for the school assignment,” according to a statement from the Ministry of Education. 

It continued: “Following approval by the Senior School Improvement Officer, the school secretary will make an appointment for a medical examination with the Public Health Nurse. Parents can arrange for an examination from a private doctor. The medical examination must be completed before a child is enrolled.” The catchment area for government primary schools are as follows: 

West Bay Primary: North of Government House to Spanish Bay Reef to include all of West Bay. 

George Town Primary: South of Government House to Memorial Avenue, North along Walkers Road to Maple Road and east along Smith Road to Crewe Road airport junction. North on Airport Road, through the junction in Industrial Park to include all areas north and east past the airport to North Sound. 

Red Bay Primary: South side of Memorial Avenue, along Walkers Road to Maple Road and south side of Smith Road, both sides of Crewe Road bordered by Owen Roberts Drive to the north and South Sound to the South Sound border on the east side of Victory Avenue. 

Prospect Primary: All areas from Prospect Drive eastward to west side of Spotts-Newlands Road (to include all of Prospect Park, Patrick’s Island, Ocean Club, Mariners Cove, Cascades Drive and west side of Spotts-Newlands Road).  

Savannah Primary: The east side of Spotts-Newlands Road to Beach Bay Road in Pedro St. James, including greater Pedro. 

Bodden Town Primary: East of Beach Bay Road up to Breakers, including Northward.  

East End Primary: East of the Frank Sound junction to include all of East End to Colliers. 

North Side Primary: All of Frank Sound to Old Man Bay, west to Cayman Kai 

West End Primary, Cayman Brac: West end of Cayman Brac to Faith Hospital on north side of the island and across the island to the south coast. 

Creek Infant/Spot Bay Junior School: All areas east of Faith Hospital to the eastern end of Cayman Brac. 

Little Cayman Education Service: All areas of Little Cayman 

John Gray High School: All areas west of Spotts-Newlands Road. 

Clifton Hunter High School: All areas east of Spotts-Newlands Road. 

Layman Scott High School: All areas of Cayman Brac and Little Cayman. 


The Ministry of Education is urging early registration for the new intake at local government schools.