Commonwealth essay winners celebrated

Twenty-eight primary and high school students who won prizes in the Royal Commonwealth Society 2014 essay competition were presented with their awards at a ceremony at Government House last week.  

The top winner overall was St. Ignatius Catholic School with 19 awards, followed by Cayman Prep and High School with seven awards.  

Two students from Edna M. Moyle Primary School won junior silver and bronze awards among government schools. 

At the presentation ceremony, Governor Helen Kilpatrick congratulated the winners. 

Delivering remarks on behalf of Education Minister Tara Rivers, who could not be present, Ministerial Councillor Winston Connolly said the achievement of the Cayman Islands students was especially laudable since the competition attracted more than 10,000 entries worldwide from 44 Commonwealth countries.  

“You should be extremely proud of yourselves,” he told the youngsters. 

Karim Murray of St. Ignatius Catholic School, who earned a senior silver award, netted the Elliott Cup for 2014. Both the senior bronze awards were won by St. Ignatius students – Daniela Granados and Japhia Agustine. 

Bobby Lomax from Cayman Prep and High and Hannah Wood from St. Ignatius won junior gold awards. 

The Junior silver award winners were: Shammara Wishart of Edna M. Moyle Primary School; Marisol Smith, Amari Larsen and Ewan Wilson of Cayman Prep and High School; D’Vonte Joseph, Lance Jefferson and Kai Dobbin of St. Ignatius. 

The Junior bronze award winners were: Monica Tatum of Edna M. Moyle Primary School; Bella Kingsley-Bates, Sophie Sherlock and Alexandra Rodrigues of Cayman Prep and High School; Adam McWatt, Ethan Duval, Hannah Foster, Azuka Obi, Jonah Sigsworth, Kendra Harrison, Liora Vandendries, Nathan George, Shayana Windsor, Shrinjan Datta, Elizabeth Thoppil and Jenna Gansebom, all from St. Ignatius. 


Winners of the Royal Commonwealth Society 2014 essay competition receive awards at Government House.


Student Hannah Wood with Governor Helen Kilpatrick.


Shammara Wishart with Ministry of Education Acting Chief Officer Christen Suckoo.