Primary season kicks off with exciting Opening Rally games

Primary school kids get their chance to show off their football skills this Saturday. 

The customary Opening Rally kicks off the CUC Primary Football League season from 9 a.m. at the traditional home of local football, the TE McField Annex in George Town. 

The 2015/16 CUC PFL and Girls’ Primary Football League regular seasons will kick off on Saturday, Oct. 3 at venues across Grand Cayman. 

Two-time defending rally champions Cayman Prep aim to continue the school’s winning ways by going for a record third consecutive Opening Rally title. 

Prep defeated Red Bay Primary in last year’s thrilling final thanks to a solitary strike from the final’s Most Valuable Player, Nathan Trickett. 

The Opening Rally has always been highly entertaining and very competitive with 13 schools competing this year. 

Besides Prep, competing are last season’s runners up Red Bay Primary, third-placed Truth For Youth and fourth-placed North East Schools. 

Other schools competing are George Town Primary, Savannah Primary, Sir John A. Cumber Primary, Prospect Primary, Cayman Brac, Cayman International School, South Sound Schools, St. Ignatius Prep and Triple C. 

The Opening Rally is an exciting, fast-paced one-day tournament with games being only 10 minutes per half with no offsides. 

Games must end with a winner. If games are tied at the end of the 20 minutes, penalties will decide the victor. 

The first round of play is the group stage with schools being divided into three groups of three schools and one group of four. 

Schools play each other once in their respective group with the two top teams from each group advancing to the second round – the knockout stage. From the quarterfinals, the semifinalists are decided with the resulting two winners advancing to the final and the two losers playing for third and fourth place. 

Zone A includes Cayman International School, North East Schools and St. Ignatius Prep; Zone C has Cayman Prep, George Town Primary and Prospect Primary; and Zone D with Savannah Primary, South Sound Schools and Triple C. Zone B is made up of four schools; Cayman Brac, Red Bay Primary, Sir John A. Cumber Primary and Truth For Youth. 

Cayman Prep (blue) defeated Red Bay Primary 1-0 in last year

Cayman Prep (blue) defeated Red Bay Primary 1-0 in last year’s final.

Comments are closed.