New Proud of Them recipients chosen

Pictured with the ministry’s chief officer, Dorine Whittaker, third from left, and Minister Osbourne Bodden, fourth from left, are Proud of Them recipients, from left, Ned Miller, Kory McLean, James Geary and Cole Morgan, and seated, from left, Chauntol Hylton, Ileann Powery, Jacie Mascarenhas and Marika Scotland. (Several awardees were absent.)

Twelve people have been chosen in this year’s Proud of Them initiative to be featured on roadside billboards around Grand Cayman.

Highlighted for their efforts, achievements and potential in academics, community service, culture and/or sports, the recipients were presented with their certificates and cash prizes on Feb. 18 by Youth Minister Osbourne Bodden at the George Town Yacht Club, with their families in attendance.

This year’s recipients are:

Jessica Ebanks (Academics), Brett Mobley (Community Service), Chauntol Hylton (Academics), Ned Miller (Culture), David Lee (Academics), Kory McLean (Academics/Sports), Marika Scotland (Academics/Community Service), James Geary (Sports/Community Service), Jacie Mascarenhas (Academics/Community Service), Cole Morgan (Sports), Ileann Powery (Sports) and Arin Taylor (Sports).

This is the fifth round of the Proud of Them initiative, which was launched in 2012 as a way to celebrate the achievements of the young people of Cayman.

- Advertisement -

To date, 60 young men and women have been featured in the program.

At last week’s ceremony, Minister Bodden said of the recipients, “They are a fantastic, committed group of young leaders. I congratulate them, their parents and extended family for producing young citizens of such caliber.”

- Advertisement -

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now