21 receive Cayman National Cultural Foundation awards

Some of the awardees, from left, John Watler, Tamara ‘Tigerlily’ Hill, Aimee Randolph, Natasha Kozaily, William Jackson, Kaitlyn Elphinstone, Loxley Banks, Tony Powell, Selita Ebanks and Jason Gilbert. - Photos: Jewel Levy

The Cayman National Cultural Foundation’s National Arts and Culture Awards recognized 21 individuals at the Harquail Theatre last week.

The Feb. 25 event, in its 22nd year, awarded those who have attained a level of merit in the artistic discipline, contributed to arts, culture and heritage in the Cayman Islands and supported the work of the Cultural Foundation.

Awards were also presented for Volunteer of the Year and Sponsor of the Year, and the Chairman’s Award was presented for outstanding long-term support of the Foundation’s work.

The Heritage Gold Cross award went to Loxley Banks, William Kemuel Jackson, Susan Olde, Bernard “Tony” Powell and Capt. Arlin Tatum. Mr. Banks was awarded for his work in broadcasting and heritage preservation, Mr. Jackson for works in heritage preservation, Ms. Olde as a patron of the arts, Mr. Powell for heritage preservation and Capt. Tatum for music.

Grace Gealey, Selita Ebanks, Tamara “Tigerlily” Hill, David Bridgeman, Jason “JG” Gilbert and John “Selecta Renegade” Watler were presented the Star for Creativity in the Arts Gold.

Ms. Gealey was awarded for the performing arts, Ms. Ebanks for fashion and performing arts, Ms. Hill for fashion and Mr. Bridgeman for visual arts.

Mr. Gilbert was awarded for music and Mr. Watler for broadcasting and music.

The Star for Creativity in the Arts Silver went to John “Selecta Renegade” Watler, Kaitlyn Elphinstone, Natasha Kozaily and Michael Lemay.

Mr. Ebanks and Ms. Elphinstone were awarded for visual arts and Ms. Kozaily and Mr. Lemay for music.

The Heritage Cross Silver award went to Islyn Ebanks, Natalie Urquhart and Aimee Randolph. Ms. Ebanks was awarded for traditional music and drumming, Ms. Urquhart for heritage preservation and Ms. Randolph for education.

Volunteers of the year awards went to Jevaughnie Ebanks and Henry Hill.

Simone Scott from Cayman Brac received the Chairman’s Award for outstanding long-term support of the foundation’s work.

To make a nomination for the 23rd Annual National Arts and Culture Awards, visit artscayman.org or call 949-5477.

If you value our service, if you have turned to us in the past few days or weeks for verified, factual updates, if you have watched our live streaming of press conferences or sent an article to a friend... please consider a donation. Quality local journalism was at risk before the coronavirus crisis. It is now deeply threatened. Even a small amount can go a long way to sustaining our mission of informing the public. We need our readers’ financial support now more than ever.