Scores take to the sea for Flow 800m swim

From left, Jake Bailey, Liam Henry, Avery Lambert and Finn Bishop hold up their final placement cards after they completed the FLOW 800m Sea Swim on Saturday. - Photos: Taneos Ramsay

Despite some stormy and uncertain weather throughout Saturday, the 31st annual FLOW 800m Sea Swim took place at Governors Beach.

More than 90 swimmers participated in this event, with competitors ranging in age from under 10 to over 70.

Liam Henry and Jake Bailey, who both competed in the 15-19 age category, came first and second, respectively. Henry’s time was 11 minutes, 8 seconds, with Bailey just four seconds behind him with 11:12.

Avery Lambert came in third place with a time of 11:19, competing in the 13-14 category.

The fourth place was taken by Finn Bishop, with a time of 11:26. He was also competing in 13-14 age group.

- Advertisement -
This year’s first place winner Liam Henry beat the other competitors with a time of 11:08.
Jake Bailey came second place with a time of 11:12, competing in the 15-19 age category.

The previous record holders for the FLOW Sea Swim are John Bodden and Ria Plunkett, who competed in 2016 and set the records with times of 07:28 and 07:47, respectively.

- Advertisement -

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now