Who will rule Cayman cricket in 2006?

What promises to be a big season for Cayman’s cricketers gets under way on Saturday.

Cayman Islands cricket season

A new Cayman Islands cricket season is set to start this weekend. Compass file photo

The Money Express sponsored local league has been reorganised, creating a larger number of teams in division one.

For the first time, both divisions will have seven teams and 12 matches.

Saturday’s opening action sees 2005 division two league champions Cayman Brac – led by Wayne Taylor – coming up against The Rest, captained by the grand master Jimmy Powell.

On Sunday, 2005 division one league champions Police, led by national senior team captain Ryan Bovell will be challenged by The Rest, captained by national senior team vice captain Steve Gordon.

Teams for both matches – to be played at Smith Road Oval beginning at noon – will be announced later.

Money Express division one and two league matches start on January 21 and 22 at Jimmy Powell Oval and Smith Road Oval respectively.

Other venues to be used during the season are John A. Cumber Primary School ground and Cayman Brac High School ground.

Regionally, the Cayman Islands senior team will be playing in Canada against Bermuda, Canada, USA, and ICC Americas division two winners for a spot on the ICC World Cricket League division three.

And to top it all off, the Stanford 20/20 brings Cayman’s players up against the rest of the West Indies.

The tournament is scheduled to be played in Antigua in July.

Local umpires are set to continue officiating on the international scene officiating in matches organised by ICC Americas in Surinam in February and Argentina in April.

For further information call 945-6447 or 916-5862.