Big win for Windies!

The West Indies redeemed themselves after the dismal Test thrashing by beating England in the third One-Day international at Trent Bridge on Saturday.

Windies won comfortably by 93 runs runs after smashing the England attack for 289-5 thanks to a knock of 82 from Runako Morton and skipper Chris Gayle.

West Indies won the series 2-1 and must take enormous heart for reversing their form from the Test series.

Rejuvenated fast bowler Daren Powell was England’s chief tormentor, snatching the first three wickets to leave England reeling on 33-3.

Newcomer Matt Prior went first, wafting his bat pointlessly outside off stump and nicking an edge through to the keeper for just one.

He was hailed as the batsman who could turn around England’s opener problem, but shots like that won’t help his case.

Alastair Cook went next. He was looking well set on 18 with four boundaries and finally playing his natural game – that was until he slashed at a wide one and Dwayne Smith took the catch.

Then came the prized wicket of Kevin Pietersen for the West Indies.

England’s most dangerous batsman was far from that, edging a cutter from Powell to slip on only his second ball. That’s when West Indies realized they had a good chance of winning.

Ian Bell was the next prized scalp to go. He went after a 45-ball 27, edging a wide one from Fidel Edwards to point.

Owais Shah was England’s only batsman to gain any respectability – notching another half century with a fine knock.

He fell on 51, top edging a sweep off Dwayne Smith, leaving captain Paul Collingwood and Dimitri Mascarenhas the last hope for England.

Collingwood hit a steady 44 but was cramped up by Dwayne Bravo and chopped on to his stumps.

Mascarenhas then edged to slip for five and the West Indies were jubilant at they ended a poor tour with a confidence-boosting win.

England look no nearer to solving the lamentable form the showed in the World Cup – and the prospect of one-dayers against India later in the summer looks ominous.

England: A N Cook, M J Prior (Wkt), I R Bell, K P Pietersen P D Collingwood (Capt), O A Shah, A D Mascarenhas, L E Plunkett S C J Broad, M S Panesar, J M Anderson.

West Indies: C H Gayle (Capt), D S Smith, S Chanderpaul M N Samuels, D R Smith, R S Morton, D Ramdin (Wkt), D J Bravo D B L Powell, R Rampaul, F H Edwards.

Umpires: M R Benson and BG Jerling

WICB news

West Indies Cricket Board president Ken Gordon will not be seeking re-election at the end of the month.

Gordon, 77, offered his resignation to the board at the end of April but was persuaded to change his mind. But his tenure two year tenure has been blighted by continuing poor results on the pitch and an alarming decline in relations between officials and players.

There is only one candidate for the vacancy at the moment, Julian Hunte, the former St Lucia foreign minister.

The current WICB vice-president is Val Banks. He is also not seeking re-election and Dave Cameron, a director who currently represents Jamaica on the board, is the only nominee. The election, if there needs to be one, will be held on July 29, 2007 at the Marriott in Trinidad as part of the board’s AGM.

Comments are closed.