Chamber nominees announced

The Chamber of Commerce Annual General Meeting is scheduled at 3pm Friday, 30 November, at the Brasserie conference facility in Cricket Square.

2007 was an active year for the Chamber and its 614 corporate and 63 associate members. The president, council and staff will reflect on the Chamber’s many achievements and will pay tribute to businesses and volunteers that have helped to make the year a success. Treasurer Mr. Wayne Cowan will present the highlights of the 2007 financial year and will table the 2006 audited financial statements which have been prepared by honourary auditors Krys & Associates. Mr. James Tibbetts will deliver the Incoming president’s address for 2008.

Minister for Tourism, Environment, Investment and Commerce Mr. Charles Clifford and Mrs. Gloria McField-Nixon, chief officer in the Ministry will also attend.

A Chamber Nomination Committee has submitted a full slate of candidates for consideration by the membership. All members in good standing (paid up dues) present in person or by representative at the AGM are eligible to vote. Nominations can be made from the floor as long as there is a seconder and the nominee accepts the nomination. No votes shall be given by proxy.

The full list of nominees to serve on the 2008 Council as submitted by the Nomination Committee is as follows:

President: Mr. James Tibbetts, managing director, Cayman Petro Services

President-Elect: Mr. Eddie Thompson, managing director, CAD Plus

Vice President: Mr. Stuart Thomas Bostock, president and CEO, The Security Centre Ltd.

Treasurer Mr. Wayne Cowan, owner, Strategic Risk Solutions Ltd.

Secretary Mr. Brian Barnes, owner and managing director, Brian A. Barnes & Company Ltd.

Councillor (two year term, six positions available)

Ms. Paulette Anglin-Lews, managing director, Anglin-Lewis and Associates Ltd.

Dr. Gelia Frederick Van Genderen, director, Water Authority-Cayman

Mr. J. F. Richard Hew, president and CEO, Caribbean Utilities Company Ltd.

Mr. David Kirkaldy, president, Massive Equipment Rentals and Sales Ltd.

Mr. Trevor Neckles, executive director, Manro Hayden Overseas LDC

Mr. James O’Neill, managing director, Frapag Finance Ltd.

Mr. Farried Sulliman, managing director, Scotiabank

There is no charge to attend the AGM. Refreshments and light hors d’oeuvres will be served. Members can register online at

Comments are closed.