National Trust honours 20

The National Trust for the Cayman Islands observed its 20th anniversary by recognising 20 people in the community whose activities exemplify what the Trust is all about.

Several of the honourees have been working to preserve Cayman history and heritage since before the National Trust was established by law in 1987.

During recent dinner celebrations at the Grand Old House, Trust general manager explained the reasons for the honours. Chairperson Carla Reid and Minister for Environment Charles Clifford presented the awards. They went to:

Mr. Charles Adams for more than 20 years of preserving historic buildings and maritime heritage.

Mr. Rob Bennett, for his work incorporating native plants into landscaping.

The Family of the late Captain Theo Bodden for preserving historic homes in Grand Cayman and Little Cayman.

Dr. Brenda Bush, for her work in caring for injured animals and creating the Wildlife Rescue Unit.

Mr. Leonardi Carter for preserving the store and home in Cayman Brac.

Mr. Gary Chisholm for the use of native and traditional plants in landscaping and encouraging their use and propagation.

Caribbean Utilities Company (CUC) for its support of the bat programme and mangrove education programs.

Ms Ethel Ebanks for preserving the unique aspects of a traditional Caymanian sand yard.

Grand Old House for preserving an historic building through appropriate use.

Mr. Peter Hillenbrand for ‘green’ practices at Southern Cross Club in Little Cayman.

Mr. Kem Jackson for his efforts to preserve and promote catboats.

Captain Eldon Kirkconnell for preservation of historic buildings in Grand Cayman and Cayman Brac.

Ms Jeanne Masters for efforts in preserving the history of North Side’s first settlers.

Mr. Peter Milburn, a pioneer in the dive industry who grasped the importance of marine conservation.

Mr. Thomas Shropshire for preservation of his historic waterfront home.

Ms Ann Stafford for her work on Cayman’s native plants and butterflies.

Mr. Linton Tibbetts for the creation of museums on Cayman Brac and Little Cayman and contributions to preserving artefacts.

The United Church of Jamaica and the Cayman Islands for preserving some of Cayman’s most significant historic buildings in all districts.

Mr and Mrs. George Walton for the preservation and upkeep of an historic home in Cayman Brac.

Mr. Otto Watler, for his efforts to preserve the Cayman parrot.

The awards wee produced locally from salvaged ironwood and mahogany.

Comments are closed.