2008 YCLA finalists are named

The Young Caymanian Leaders Foundation has announced the five finalists for the 2008 Young Caymanian Leadership Awards.

Nominations from the community were collected in September and October for young Caymanians who demonstrate strong leadership qualities through their personal and professional accomplishments. Anyone qualifies to nominate a candidate and the Foundation relies entirely on the public to put forth the names of young Caymanians for consideration, states a press release.

‘The Foundation would like to thank the community for identifying and honouring the nominees that we received, particularly these five impressive candidates for the February 16th Awards ceremony,’ said Melissa Wolfe, foundation coordinator. ‘As with previous years, both the quantity and quality of the nominations were outstanding.’

In alphabetical order, the five finalists for the YCLA are Susan Barnes Pereira, Winston Connolly, Stephen Ryan, Dorothy Scott and Donald Spence. More information about each of these outstanding young Caymanians will be published in the coming weeks.

All five finalists will be honoured during the gala awards ceremony on Saturday, 16 February, at The Ritz-Carlton, Grand Cayman. As with previous years, the awards portion of the evening will be televised live on Cayman27 starting at 9pm.

The live broadcast is how the foundation shares this exciting and special evening of pride with the entire community. The one-hour show will feature videos on each of the five finalists, a keynote address by US presidential hopeful Mr. Mike Huckabee, YCLA overview and the announcement of the 2008 recipient.

Judging for the 2008 recipient is the next step of the YCLA process. The honorary board of directors (listed below) scores by secret ballot each of the five finalists based on video interviews and details of the finalists’ individual achievements. Honorary board members with close ties to any of the five finalists withdraw themselves from this final process.

The name of the recipient has always been a well-guarded secret until it is announced live during the telecast. Previous recipients of the YCLA are Olivaire Watler in 2000, Dax Foster in 2001, Sara in Collins in 2002, Steve Blair in 2003, Cindy Scotland in 2004, Jonathan Tibbetts in 2006 and Canover Watson in 2007

The YCLA is an annual event that sells out immediately. Anyone interesting in sponsorship should contact Melissa Wolfe at [email protected]

Honorary board members

Mr. Tim Adam

Mr. Bobby Bodden

Ms Heather Bodden

Mr. Naul Bodden

Mr. Dax Foster

Mr. Shane Foster

Mr. Rod Hansen

Mrs. Jackie Hansen

Mr. Roy McTaggart

Mr. Conor O’Dea

Mrs. Susan Olde

Mr. James Tibbetts

Mr. Al Thompson

Ms Karin Thompson

Mr. Andreas Ugland

Mr. Olivaire Watler