Webb: We’ll advance in Digicel Cup

The Cayman Islands Senior National team leaves the island today enroute to Guadeloupe.

They will take on top guns in Group F of the second stage of the Caribbean Football Union Digicel Caribbean Cup competition being played this weekend.

Cayman will hosts Guadeloupe, Grenada and Martinique, seasoned teams that have carved out their niche as outstanding contenders at all levels with many professional players which is why it has been dubbed the ‘Group of Death’.

President of the Cayman Islands Football Association Jeffrey Webb said that despite the enormity of the task, he is confident Cayman will advance to the next level.

‘This is the toughest group and has been called the Group of Death, however with the tremendous work that technical director Carl Brown and his coaching staff have put out and the significant improvements that the team has made over the past year I expect the national team to advance to the next level,’ Webb said.

‘Guadeloupe reached the semi-finals of the Gold Cup last season, Martinique are former Digicel Caribbean Cup champions and Grenada are no walk over so therefore I am sure we will have to be at our best to be in the top two.

‘The team has been playing well and if they remain consistent all will be well.’

The Cayman Islands National Senior Men’s team face the hosts on Saturday at 8pm. On Monday they tackle Martinique at 6pm and on Wednesday it’s the day of reckoning when they play the tough Grenadans at 8pm in their final bid to go on to the finals in Kingston, Jamaica in December.

Carl Brown put the finishing touches in training yesterday set off.

The team overnights in Miami where they will play a warm up game against a club team there before they continue to Guadeloupe.

The Cayman Islands hosted Group C of the competition and the national team was placed second. This qualified the team to advance to the second stage.

They played to a record result of beating St Martin 3-0 and drew 1-1 and 0-0 with winners of the group Antigua and Barbuda and Bermuda respectively.

SQUAD: Keepers: Jermaine Brown, Mario Dinnal. Defenders: Tom Elliot, Rene Carter, Horace Nelson, Leighton Elliott, Phillip Berry, John Kelly. Midfielders: Jairo Sanchez, Dion Brandon, O’Neil Taylor, Carson Fagan, Garth Anderson, Chris Douglas, Ian Lindo, Benjamin Cupid. Forwards: Calvin Jefford, Gary Whittaker, Eric Brown, Nikolai Hill.