Sir Viv and others honoured

ST. JOHN’S, Antigua — West Indian Cricket legends Sir Vivian Richards, Andy Roberts and Michael Holding were presented with their ICC Hall of Fame caps during a special ceremony held on the first day of the second Digicel Test at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Grounds in Antigua.

Richards, Roberts and Holding are the first of 13 West Indian legends to be presented with their caps, which they received from the ICC’s CEO, Mr. Haroon Lorgat who was in Antigua for the special occasion.

The remainder of the Legends will receive their Hall of Fame caps at other venues during the Digicel Series.

The lunch time presentation was followed by a five overs-/a-side match featuring the players from the national U15 team, the Hall of Famers and former West Indies players.

‘This is a wonderful opportunity for the cricket-loving people of the Caribbean to celebrate the induction of our legends into the ICC Hall of Fame,’ stated Dr. Julian Hunte, President of the WICB.

Added Dr. Hunte: ‘The ICC’s centenary theme is ‘Catch the Spirit’ – the spirit of Cricket that has lived for 100 years and produced outstanding individuals and teams, such as the men we are honouring today.

‘This celebration also embraces the future, as demonstrated by the participation of our young cricketers who took the stage in an exhibition match.’

Whilst in Antigua Lorgat and ICC Members Services and Corporate Affairs Manager, Jon Long met with the WICB President, CEO and staff and as well as sponsors, media, government officials and stakeholders at a cocktail held at the WICB Headquarters in St. John’s last Thursday.

The second Test wraps up tomorrow 17 February. West Indies had a 1-0 lead in the four game series after winning by an inning and 23 runs last week.

The West Indies squad for the second Test was as follows:

Chris Gayle (Captain)

Denesh Ramdin (Vice Captain)

Lionel Baker

Sulieman Benn

Shivnarine Chanderpaul

Fidel Edwards

Ryan Hinds

Brendan Nash

Daren Powell

Ramnaresh Sarwan

Lendl Simmons

Devon Smith

Jerome Taylor

The 13 West Indian Legends are: Clive Lloyd; Sir Vivian Richards; Michael Holding; Andy Roberts; Gordon Greenidge; Sir Garfield Sobers; Sir Everton Weekes; Malcolm Marshall; Sir Clyde Walcott; Sir Frank Worrell; Lance Gibbs; Rohan Kanhai and George Headley.

After the second Test wraps up England takes on the Barbados Cricket Association president XI at Windward Cricket Club in St. Phillip, Barbados.

The third Test in the series is 26 February-2 March at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.


Sulieman Benn has been taking many wickets

Photo: AP


Michael Holding was one of the legends honoured


Andy Roberts is a legend in West Indies cricket

Photos: File