Hellcats keep sequence going

They’ve bounced back again! The West Bay Goldfield Hellcats have continued their amazing sequence by winning the flag football championship for the fourth time in seven seasons.

After victories in 2003, 2005 and 2007 they were due to continue the sequence and sure enough, touchdowns by Perry ‘BoyWonder’ Levy and Phil Browne in overtime gave them a 12-6 victory over the Dog House Bulldogs.

The match at the Ed Bush Stadium on Saturday was sponsored by Zulu’s Red Bull. A huge vocal crowd turned up for the spectacle and they were not disappointed.

Levy scored early on and the Hellcats hung on for most of the game until the always dangerous Jon Pump equalised late on to send it into overtime.

In the women’s championship match, the Walkers Wonders survived some intense pressure from the Hammerheads Lady Sharks to snatch victory 12-0 through scores by Isatou Sey and Cassandra Bodden.