West Indies relieved as Taylor and Sarwan return

Jerome Taylor and Ramnaresh Sarwan
are back in the West Indies squad for the World Twenty20, having recovered from
injury, while Wavell Hinds has been recalled after being dropped for the recent
series against Zimbabwe.

Both Taylor and Sarwan have been
out of action since the Test series in Australia late last year. Taylor pulled
up with a hip injury during the first match in Brisbane, and Sarwan has
struggled with a back problem since the end of the series and wasn’t risked
against Zimbabwe last month.

West Indies ended a barren run of
form with their 4-1 one-day series against Zimbabwe, but suffered an
embarrassing start to that tour with defeats in
in a T20 international and the first ODI at Providence – the venue for both their group
matches against England and Ireland – in Guyana.

However, as they showed in England
last year, West Indies have a potentially explosive mix for Twenty20 and Clyde
Butts, the chairman of selectors, is confident of a strong showing from the
team which is now coached by Ottis Gibson.

“We have Chris Gayle at the
top of the order and he can be a match-winner,” he said. “It is also
good to have our experienced players in the middle-order – Shiv Chanderpaul and
Ramnaresh Sarwan – and this gives us strength in the batting.

“Wavell Hinds brings a wealth of
experience. He is a knowledgeable cricketer and we believe can make a good
contribution in the middle-order as well.”

“Dwayne Bravo is one of the
leading all-rounders in world cricket and he is the key man with bat and ball.
We are happy to have Jerome Taylor back in the bowling department and this is a
big plus.

“I also believe Sulieman Benn will
play a major role with the ball. Overall, we have a balanced side with good
all-round strength.

“We are confident our players
will deliver on the home stage. If we play as a unit we have a very good chance
of winning the World Twenty20. The strength is in the all round ability of the

Gayle, Bravo, Kieron Pollard and
Kemar Roach are at the IPL, so will have the advantage of recent Twenty20
action while some of the other members of the squad will take part on the
Jamaica Cricket Association festival.

SQUAD: Chris Gayle (capt), Sulieman
Benn, Dwayne Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Andre Fletcher,
Wavell Hinds, Nikita Miller, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Kemar
Roach, Darren Sammy, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Jerome Taylor.