Roach: Bajans will rule T20

Kemar Roach, the Barbados fast
bowler, has issued a warning to opposing teams in the upcoming West Indies
Cricket Board’s Caribbean T20 Tournament. He has promised that the Bajans will
be all fired up when they take to the field in Zone B alongside Guyana, Windward
Islands and Combined Campuses & Colleges. Zone A includes Trinidad and
Tobago, Jamaica, Leeward Islands and Canada.

Barbados open against CCC on 23
July, followed by a clash with the Windwards on 25 July 25. Both matches are at
Kensington Oval. They then move on to Trinidad and face the Guyanese on 29 July
at Queen’s Park Oval.

“The Bajans will be firing in this
tournament. We will be firing on all cylinders,” Roach said. “It is a big
opportunity for all the members of the team to step up and represent the
country. We have a very good chance of going all the way. Playing at home at
Kensington Oval will be great for us and we want to do it for the people. We
have a number of very good bowlers and good all-rounder as well. Once the
batting clicks and puts some good scores on the board, I am confident we can go
all the way.

“Our bowling is our strength and we
have a lot of variety in the attack. We have options. We will have a lot of
home support. Bajans love their cricket and I want to urge the people to come
out and support the tournament. It’s Crop Over time and once the music is
playing, I can guarantee the people will come out and have a great time at the
matches. The Caribbean T20 is new and it will be a chance for the players to
showcase their skills and the crowds to get involved as well.”

Roach and all-rounder Dwayne Smith
are the two Barbados team players who have experienced the Indian Premier
League. Both are members of the Deccan Chargers franchise. The squad also
includes tall left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn, who is an outstanding T20 bowler.

There is a huge incentive to win
the Caribbean T20, with the leading Caribbean team going on to represent the
West Indies at the Airtel Champions League in South Africa in September.

Roach added: “It would be a great
opportunity for any Caribbean team to make it to the Champions League. Trinidad
and Tobago went last year and they did really well, playing an exciting brand
of cricket. We in the Barbados team would love to make it this time around.
It’s a huge incentive, but first we must win the Caribbean T20 so that is the
focus of everyone in the team right now.”

The format for the Caribbean T20
Tournament will be two groups of four teams. There will be a round-robin stage
in each group – each team will play three matches – with the top two teams in
each group qualifying for the semi-finals. The winners of the semi-finals will
advance to final while the losing semi-finalists will play a third-place
play-off. The matches in Barbados will be played on 22-25 July and the Trinidad
matches are on 28-31 July with 1 August as the reserve day for the finals.

ESPN and the West Indies Cricket
Board have reached an agreement for the broadcast of the Caribbean T20 and over
61 million fans will see the tournament. In the Caribbean, fans will be able to
view all the matches LIVE on the two ESPN Caribbean networks ESPN and ESPN2,
while highlights will be available the following day on Caribbean Media Corporation

SQUAD: Ryan Hinds
(captain), Jason Hinds, Alcindo Holder, Kevin Stoute, Larry Babb, Sulieman
Benn, Jonathan Carter, Kirk Edwards, Kemar Roach, Carlo Morris, Dale Richards,
Ashley Nurse, Dwayne Smith, Javon Searles; Desmond Haynes (Manager), Emmerson
Trotman (Coach), Vasbert Drakes (Assistant Coach), Jacqui King-Mowatt