Prep were in primary form

Cayman Prep claimed the first
silverware of the 2010/2011 CUC Primary Football League season as they defeated
George Town Primary 3-0 in the final of the Opening Rally this past Saturday at
the T.E. McField Annex Sports Complex.

Runners-up in the 2001/2010 Opening
Rally, the Cayman Prep boys made it difficult for themselves during the group
stage and were at one point very close to being eliminated. Just as the Prep
contingent were packing-up and heading for the exits, newcomers Wesleyan
Academy created the shock of the day as they downed NorthEast Schools in a
penalty shootout, resulting in a second-place finish for Cayman Prep in Group C
and a spot in the quarter-finals thanks to their superior goal difference.

Cayman Prep had opened their Zone C
campaign with a resounding 5-0 victory over Wesleyan Academy before losing to
NorthEast Schools on penalties and defending Rally champions and eventual Zone
C winners Sir John A. Cumber 1-0.

In the quarter-finals, Cayman Prep
defeated Zone A winners Truth For Youth 2-1 before cementing a spot in the
final with a 1-0 win over Bodden Town Primary, thanks to a wonder strike from
Victor Magalhaes.

Eventual finalists George Town
Primary finished runners-up in Zone B after losing 1-0 to Prospect Primary,
defeating Triple C on penalties and overcoming South Sound Schools 2-0. In the
quarter-finals, George Town faced defending Opening Rally champions and Zone C
winners Sir John A. Cumber Primary, who were on a high after going undefeated
in the group stage. With the score locked at one-a-piece, George Town Primary
survived the dreaded penalty shootout and ended Sir John A. Cumber’s dream of
replicating their 2009/2010 success.

In the semi-finals, George Town
Primary went on to defeat St. Ignatius Prep 2-0 thanks to an inspiring
double-strike from the always dangerous D’Andre Rowe.

With the evening sun hanging low in
the clouds, the two finalists – Cayman Prep and George Town Primary – took to
the field for one final showdown. The day’s heat had taken its toll on both
sets of players but they were determined to get their hands on the ultimate

George Town’s danger man D’Andre
Rowe kept Cayman Prep’s defenders on their toes with several darting runs
throughout the first half. Not to be outdone, Cayman Prep’s newest acquisition
Corey Mellaneo and Jack Lewis were causing countless problems for George Town’s

Cayman Prep’s persistence soon paid
off as Alex Logvinov and Lewis struck in quick succession to give Prep a 2-0
lead going into half-time.

As the second half began, George
Town fought valiantly in search of an answer but Cayman Prep’s defenders were
up for the challenge. Against the run of play, Lewis struck his second of the
game and sealed the win for his school much to the delight of the exuberant
Cayman Prep faithful.

As referee Gary Whittaker sounded
the final whistle, the Cayman Prep bench and sideline erupted with cheers and
clapping for their young heroes. They had done it. The cup was theirs.

George Town were gracious in defeat
and congratulated their counterparts. Although losing a final is never easy,
the George Town players were given a rousing round of applause for their performance.
Finishing the day as opening rally runners-up was a fantastic feat for George

Following the final, both final
teams and third-place finishers St. Ignatius Prep received their trophies and
individual awards from minister of sport Mark Scotland.

Organiser Neil Murray of sponsors
CUC, said; “The PFL organisers thank all the parents and supporters who made
their way to the field on Saturday to cheer on the players. Special thanks to
the Cayman Islands Referees Association for their assistance with the day’s
officiating duties. The PFL Committee further encourages supporters of ‘the
powerful game’ to visit one of the primary school venues this coming Saturday
as the regular season for the 2010/2011 CUC Primary Football League commences.
We’ll see you at the field.”

Comments are closed.