Scuba Hall of Fame inductees

Six pioneers across the industry are among the most recent inductees into the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame.

Founded in 2000 by the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism, the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame recognises international and local Cayman pioneers who have made outstanding contributions to the recreational scuba diving industry, in a yearly ceremony held in Grand Cayman.

This year the gala will be held on Tuesday, 8 November.

Some of the pioneers

World-renowned French diver, photographer, author and painter André Laban, was a pioneering member of Jacques-Yves Cousteau’s Calypso team, serving as chief engineer and diver. He developed early underwater cameras and also painted underwater images.

Bev Morgan founded the Los Angeles County Instructors programme, which was the first scuba instructor’s programme available to the public. He wrote the first instruction manual, which was based on the Scripps Institute programme, and also authored Underwater Safety, a standard diving book of the 1950s. Photographer, writer and inventor, his work has been influential.

Allan Power’s inclusion in the 2011 International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame recognises his over 40 years spent diving the wreck of the President Coolidge and making it into one of the best known and safest dive sites around the oceans of Vanuatu.

Numerous awards

Clement Lee is recognised as a leader in the development of diving in Southeast Asia. As managing director and a founding partner of Borneo Divers and Sea Sports, in 1989 he was among the first to build a dive resort on Sipadan Island.

He has received numerous awards for his achievements and contributions to the diving industry.

Underwater filmmakers Howard and Michele Hall are hailed for their marine cinematography contribution to over 100 films.

Mr. Hall has received six cinematography Emmy awards for films produced for television and Mrs. Hall has received one Emmy. They have also written several diving, photography, marine life and children’s books.

The couple has also created two critically acclaimed IMAX Productions – Into the Deep 3D and Islands of the Sharks. They also appear in another one, Coral Reef Adventure.

In addition, three early dive pioneers will be inducted into the hall of fame.

They are John Scott Haldane of Scotland, who developed staged compression tables, Frenchman Louis de Corlieu, who invented swim fins, and Hugh Bradner, the American who developed the wetsuit.

Household names

Premier McKeeva Bush said the latest slate of inductees are pioneers, innovators, inventors and household names in the international scuba diving industry, as much as their counterparts in previous years have been.

“The International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame Board is pleased to recognise them as the best in their field and to place their names alongside the other outstanding individuals who have been named to the Hall of Fame over the past 10 years.”

The Hall of Fame was established in 2000 by the Ministry of Tourism to recognise local and international pioneers and holds a ceremony every year.