Schedule clash burnt Time Attack

The scheduling conflict between
last month’s autocross race and drag race was a minor storyline. But the fact
that one cancelled due to the other is a relatively major happening.

The Cayman Motorsports Association
cancelled its March edition of its monthly Time Attack race. The event was
slated to go off at George Town’s Progressive loop on the same day and same
time as the Cayman Islands Drag Racing Association’s first drag meet at
Breakers Speedway titled Cayman’s Fastest. The motorsports association
confirmed the cancellation last week and issued a brief statement which read,
“Unfortunately due to low driver turn-out for March’s Time Attack, we have had
to take the decision to cancel the event. Apologies to all those who did sign
up and those who were planning to come out and support the event. Our next
event will be 17 April so please plug that date into your calendars from now.”

Meanwhile the drag racing
association went into the event aware of the conflict. President Sammy Jackson,
who also took part in the meet with his 2002 Chevy Camaro SS, explains that it
was an unavoidable clash and it was regrettable that the dexterity race was put

“It is really unfortunate and I
have already given the motorsports association folks an undertaking that we
will work with them to ensure it won’t happen again,” Jackson said. “It was due
to a miscommunication about the status of their event and by the time we got
accurate information, both organizations had published their calendar.”

It will be interesting to see if
there are more conflicts. Based on the current calendar of events for both
groups it would not appear so. The one month of note is July as a Time Attack
race is slated for the 30th at night while a drag meet is scheduled for the

Nevertheless March would prove to
be a memorable month thanks to the Cayman’s Fastest race. Roughly 24 cars came
out to compete and a number of winners were seen across five categories. In the
top flight, group A, Billy Ebanks would run his Dodge Daytona to an approximate
time of 5.700 seconds to best Sammy Jackson. Group B would produce an upset as
Marlon ‘Christian’ Forde took his Mitsubishi Evolution III down the 1/8 mile asphalt
track in 7.035s. Technically that time was slower than Ian Tibbetts’ 6.482s run
in his Chevy Corvette but Forde was credited with the victory due to a faster
reaction time.

Group C saw Jordan Seales run his
Mitsubishi Evolution III to a 7.948s finish. That would be enough to overcome Robert
Thompson’s Ford Mustang which ran 8.972s. Police sargeant Leslie Franklin would
run his Toyota Starlet in 8.888s, good enough for the Group D win. He would
best Garth Bryce, whose Toyota MR-2 ran 8.952s. Finally in the bike category
Humberto Rives would win the battle of Suzukis against Dante ‘Ross’ Hydes.
Rives’ Hayabusa put down a pass of 9.421s which was slower than Hydes and his
GSR’s time of 6.316s; however Hydes would redlight and be disqualified.

A pair of records were also set at
the race. Rives has the new record for fastest motorcycle time at 5.702s at
121mph while Seales has the new record for stock turbo Evolutions with a 7.532s
pass at 91mph.