Future is bright


future of track and field in the Cayman Islands looks bright considering the
high level of competition seen at the Inter-Primary Schools Championships last

days of hard fought action from kids aged between seven and 11 had spectators
thrilled at the Truman Bodden Complex. John A. Cumber won for the third time in
four years confirming the West Bay school as the premier one for athletic
excellence in Cayman.

champs Red Bay did their best but came off second this time.

level of sportsmanship was generally exemplary too. Track coaches Kenrick
Williams, Tyrone Yen and all the teachers who prepared their kids for these
championships, must be proud. Losers were just as valiant in defeat as winners
were in triumph.

example of good sportsmanship was shown by Karim Murray who was the first to
congratulate Louis Gordon when he was beaten in the long jump and Murray was
also gracious in defeat when beaten again by Rasheem Brown in the 100 metres

Ignatius’ Jade Solomon won the girls shot put open event while George Town’s
Tatyana Smith won the girls 800m open. Sir John A. Cumber won the boys shot put
open and Prep’s Corey Mellaneo won the boys 800m open.

the invitational open Triple C’s Shalyssa Wray and Truth for Youth’s Desmond
Bartlett outshone their competitors.

Bartlett took the triple with victories in
the 100m, 200m and long jump, while Wray was victorious in the 100m and long jump
where she established a new record of 4.02 metres.

In the invitational boys
shot put, Triple C’s Zion Coe emerged victorious over St, Ignatius’ Miguel
Riverol and East End’s Isaiah Green in a closely fought contest.

total of ten new records were established at these championships; girls open
800m in 2 minutes 46.00 seconds by Tatayna Martin of George Town and in the
boys open 800m 2.39.95 by Corey Mellaneo of Prep.

In the Division 2 girls long
jump it was 3.17m by Alexie McField of John A. Cumber and in the Division 2
boys long jump a leap of 3.55m by George Town’s Alec Harding set the new mark.

Division 3 boys long jump George Town’s Joshua O’Garro leapt to 3.92m and in
the Division 4 girls high jump Aijah Lewis of Prospect sailed over 1.16m.

the Division 4 boys high jump Prospect’s Romell Welcome leapt 1.25m and in the
Division 5 boys long jump Louis Gordon of Bodden Town reached 4.67m.

the invitational girls long jump Shalyssa Wray of Triple C won with 4.02m. In
the senior girls 4x100m relay John A. Cumber won in 57.39 seconds.

It was
announced that Sir John A. Cumber’s John Smith broke the boys open shot put
with his heave of 8.31m but on further review this was not the case as the
record stands at 8.38m and was established in 2006 by Dimitri Chambers from the
same school.

now turns to the Inter-Scholastic Championships between the Secondary Schools
this Thursday and Friday.