Capitals making playoff push

Youth hockey had a lengthy break
the last few weeks for a variety of reasons. Now youngsters are skating back on
the court to make their final moves for the playoffs.

The 2011 Logic Youth Roller Hockey
League is back in action this month. The competition had a substantial break
for Easter. One of the clubs looking to gain ground at the Logic arena of Kings
Sports Centre is the Cedrus Capitals.

Cedrus come into the month at 9-5-2
atop the Atom division. Behind the likes of Joe Allom, the Capitals have
notched the most goals (122) in the entire league. On their heels are the Eats
Blazers at 9-4-3. Tommy Kehoe and company have been solid on both ends having
the third best offence in youth hockey (scoring 107 goals) while allowing the
second-fewest amount of goals (77). Zach Alpert and Wyatt Hope have the
Weststar Wild in third at 9-8 while Scott Lewis and the Animal House Penguins
are fourth at 3-13-1.

The XN Financial Flames are
enjoying a four game lead in the loss column atop the Novice division. Will
Geldard and Ryan Godwin have steered the team to a 11-4-2 record. The dms
Bruins are in second at 8-8-1 behind Jayden Mannisto and JD Bovell. Cassidy
Amesbury and Nick McCallum have Walkers Blue Iguanas in third at 6-8-3 while
the Dart Ducks are in fourth place at 5-10-2 in spite of inspired play from
Eliseo Davis and Alex Priestley.

Finally the PeeWee division is
still being paced by the Appleby Sharks. Simply put Appleby has dazzled this
year, notching the second most goals (120) while giving up the fewest goals
(68) in all of youth hockey. Second place belongs to Dominic Dyer and the 7-6-2
Vampt Oilers while goalie prodigy Dylan Bostock has the KPMG Senators in third
at 6-10. The Conyers Canucks are fourth at 5-8-1 while the Stuarts Panthers are
fifth at 5-10-1.

News of the youth hockey restart
comes ahead of the fourth annual inter-school hockey tournament. Slated for
this Saturday 21 May, four private institutions are taking part in Cayman International
School, Cayman Prep, Montessori By the Sea and St. Ignatius. A select team
representing government school players is also registered. Matches take place
from 10.30am until 4.30pm.