Lady Sharks bite Wolverines to secure legendary repeat

The Hammerheads Lady Sharks are officially the premier side in women’s flag football.

Hammerheads won their second straight championship last Saturday at the Camana Bay field. The Lady Sharks defeated the Domino’s Pizza Wolverines in the Dart Women’s League final, put on by the Grand Cayman Flag Football Association.

Keeping the squad focused for another title run was head coach Andrew Wisdom. Known as a basketball veteran, Wisdom has made his mark in flag football. Wisdom states nabbing the championship was a hard achievement.

“It definitely wasn’t easy at all,” Wisdom said. “We always play on the edge. We started out rocky but we put it together. We played better defensively as time went on and we got some scoring.”

Leading the side to victory was a core of veteran talent like quarterback Bobeth O’Garro and Scimone Campbell. Rookie player Serena Yates had a solid showing in the final and unheralded talent Lilia Conolly had a phenomenal season. For the Wolverines their inaugural campaign ended with two consecutive losses to the Lady Sharks, in the regular season finale and the final. Steadying that squad was talented quarterback Antoinette Lewis and play-maker Benecia Thompson.

For Wisdom the change in player format had the biggest impact on the repeat. In 2011 the women’s competition not only was organized by a new association but also switched from five players per side on the field to seven. With more players came new quirks like shadow blocking. Wisdom also states that a possibility of a three-peat exists.

“Last season we used finesse with the five-a-side format. It definitely was tougher with sevens. In order to win there were lots of quick passes and defence. Right now the girls want to stay together. Once we keep the girls together, we have a superb chance.”

Comments are closed.