Prospect relying on dynamic duo

This could be the year that John Gray High School dominates the Mourant Ozannes sponsored Secondary Schools Under-15 competition.

Unbeaten so far, John Gray’s cricketers are waiting on the draw for the semifinals. Good all round performances from a number of players have given John Gray the edge as at each match someone steps up and brings success.

However, all the past performances will be left aside as St. Ignatius, Cayman Prep and Clifton Hunter are improving with every match and also looking towards the finals.

Outstanding players were shorted listed by teachers and they are in with a chance to represent Cayman Islands in the International Cricket Council Americas region U-19 T20 tournament from Aug. 12-19 in the Bahamas.

It will be another excellent opportunity for the youngsters to continue their development. National training begins this Saturday at the Smith Road Oval from 9 a.m.

Meanwhile, in the LIME sponsored primary schools competition, Sir John A Cumber is again proving to be the team to beat.

Having remained unbeaten, Sir John A Cumber is setting its sights on another championship.

Strong challenge is expected from Prospect where two youngsters – Joshua Cox and Dedrick McLaughlin – are rewriting the record books. In two matches played, Cox has taken a beaver trick (4 wickets in 4 consecutive balls) and scored two fifties not out while his opening partner McLaughlin has also remained not out in both innings.

The play offs in both the competitions of both schools promise to be exciting.

Secondary schools U-17 invited:

John Gray High School: Alex Cameron, Lucien Watson, Revaughn Johnson, Romell Turner, Cody Robinson, Leighton Thomas, Christopher Smith. Cayman Prep: Thompson Hew, Jesse Jackson, Corey Mellano. St. Ignatius: Karim Murray, Will Roberts, Perry George, Tourean Cox. Cayman Islands Further Education College: Edward Bodden. UCCI: Hakim Murray. Clifton Hunter: Jevon Forbes, Rasheem Brown, Dominica Walcott, McKyle Bodden, Ajani Harris, Shaun Jackson, Marco Montero, Rory Forbes, Luis Gordon, Ibrahim Allen.