Taylor steered By Rite perfectly

By Rite Cricket Club lead by inspirational captain Troy Taylor won the Cayman Cricket Division 1 League 2014 title staying unbeaten in 11 matches.  

By Rite, with a new focus under the leadership of Taylor and the coaching of Franklin Hinds, returned to glory after two years of dominance by Greenies 1. In last weekend’s encounter, Greenies 1 batted first and were limited to 134 with a top score of 41 by Zachary McLaughlin.  

Adrian Wright took four wickets and Omar Bryan’s two wickets were the most successful By Rite bowlers. An excellent opening partnership of 109 runs from Adrian Griffith 47 and Ainsley Hall 46 was the perfect platform to victory for By Rite who won by 6 wickets. 

Police secured the runners up position in the Division 1 League by comprehensively defeating SOL Tigers by 87 runs. Batting first Police scored 180 with a determined middle order contribution from Pearson Best 49, Garth Bryan 44 and Sam Suberan 34. SOL Tigers batsmen had no answer to the swing of Terry Nathan who picked up four early wickets limiting SOL Tigers to 94. 

In the women’s league, Sheila Rankine, captain of Islanders had an excellent all round match as she took three wickets and was 11 not out leading her team to victory by nine wickets against Greenies. Carmel Harms batted well for Greenies with the top score of 29 runs. Tamika Morgan 19 was the top batter for Islanders. 

Cayman Cricket T20 Knockout competitions begin this weekend in both divisions. 


Bazil Legore hit 18 for SOL Tigers.