Prison locked Greenies out to secure T20 title

The glorious uncertainties of cricket prevailed at the conclusion of the Cayman Islands regular season as Prison defeated Greenies to lift the Division 1 T20 championship trophy.

With that victory, Prison in Division 1 and JJ’S in Division 2 were winners in the shortest version of cricket and turned the tables on their performances in the 50 overs and 40 overs League competitions.

Recalling veteran player Steve Gordon to the lineup proved to be an excellent strategic move of Prison captain Ronald Ebanks at the Smith Road Oval on Sunday.

Gordon 42 and Troy David 22 gave Prison the dream start of 80 runs in 10 overs.

Greenies bowlers Kevon Bazil and Richard Barker with 2 wickets each did well in the second 10 overs to restrict Prison to 51 runs with Ronald Ebanks scoring 21 runs. Despite dropping five catches Prison bowlers stuck to the task to contain Greenies to 126 runs.

Bent Wentzel 51 and Zachary McLaughlin 32 provided the early fight for Greenies. It was however Ryan Bovell’s 30 including three powerfully struck sixes who gave Greenies a chance.

With Greenies requiring 17 runs for victory in the last over, Prison maintained their composure and won by 5 runs.

By Rite defeated Police in the third place playoff. Adrian Wright batted extremely well in scoring 50 not out and with Deno McInnis 38 not out took By Rite to victory by 7 wickets.

Comments are closed.