Speaker just misses parliament group chair post

Cayman Brac and Little Cayman MLA Juliana O’Connor-Connolly has won the last five general elections in the Cayman Islands.

However, the Speaker of the Cayman Islands Legislative Assembly – who has served as an elected member here since 1996 – was just nipped by a three-vote margin in her attempt to become the new chairperson of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association.

According to reports from the Oct. 9 meeting in Cameroon, the final vote of members taken in a secret ballot made Bangladesh’s Parliamentary Speaker, Shirin Chaudhury, chairperson of the association’s executive committee. The vote was 70 ballots for Ms. Chaudhury to 67 votes for Ms. O’Connor-Connolly.

The executive committee of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association is made up of 35 members who direct the association that seeks to promote parliamentary democracy within the Commonwealth states.

The chairperson typically serves for three years. Ms. Chaudhury, the first Bangladeshi chosen for the role, succeeds British MP Alan Haselhurst.

During the same elections, Pakistan Speaker Sardar Ayaz Sadiq was voted as the new CPA president, succeeding Cameroon’s Speaker, Cavaye Yeguié Djibril.

Ms. O’Connor-Connolly did not respond to requests for comment about the CPA elections.

The CPA sponsors some annual activities in Cayman and recently provided international observers in the British Overseas Territory’s general election during May 2013. The association assists in hosting Cayman’s ‘youth parliament events each year.

Comments are closed.