By Rite wary of prowling Tigers

No one can ask for a better finish to the first cricket competition in 2015. In Division 1, it all boils down to this weekend’s pressure matches.  

Troy Taylor needs to rally his By Rite team to maintain their supremacy and remain champions for another year and thwart Greenies and Sol Tigers, who are still in contention. 

With By Rite on a bye, Greenies and Sol Tigers were victorious over Police and Prison, respectively, last weekend to set up this exciting finish to the league season.  

The three contenders have an array of match winners. By Rite can rely on captain Taylor, Conroy Wright, Omar Willis, Omar Bryan and Ainsley Hall. 

Greenies have Chris Palmer, who recently captained the national side, Ryan Bovell, Alister Ifill, Zachary McLaughlin and Kevon Bazil. 

Sol Tigers can rely on Darren Cato, Corey Cato, Gregory Smith, Ricardo Roach and Bruce Jalim.  

At Jimmy Powell Oval, Sol Tigers limited Prison to 147 runs, with Gregory Smith sustaining his form taking 4 wickets. Bruce Jalim (55) and Ramon Sealy (53) both were undefeated, leading Sol Tigers to an easy victory by 7 wickets. 

Smith Road Oval was the venue for Greenies 1 to produce an outstanding batting display to thrash a depleted Police team by a large margin.  

Palmer scored a brilliant century 102 not out in partnership with Ryan Bovell (54), and rescued Greenies from a dangerous position of 5 wickets for 101 runs to a final score of 275 runs. Greenies won by 168 runs. 

In Division 2, Supermix continued its dream run, defeating Schools by 6 wickets.  

Schools started well with experienced Sacha De Alwis (56) and youthful Taurean Cox (35) in a 70 run opening partnership.  

Veterans Franklin Hinds and Devon Williams brought the match back into Supermix control with superb spin bowling.  

Supermix were cruising to victory with Kervin Ebanks 85 not out, but Schools’ young sensation Rory Forbes took 2 wickets, showing his talents in his first season. Supermix won by 6 wickets. 

For Sol Cubs, Ainsley Hall hit a 125 plus good contributions from Omar Willis (57) and Bruce Jalim (40) pushed their team to 267 for 3.  

Mango Tree was limited to 180 runs, with Sunil Sunil (63) the chief scorer. Sol Cubs won by 87 runs. 


Franklin Hinds caused problems with his spin bowling.