Cayman Islands cricket update

Thirteen teams began this 20/20 tournament in October and it all comes down to the Finals Weekend scheduled for December 15th and 16th. The remaining four teams Division 2 Cable & Wireless Schools and Welly’s ICC and Division 1 Prison and By Rite have survived the challenges of this new format called instant cricket. The crowds have been enjoying outstanding performances from both bat and ball and incredible reflexes in the field. This weekend promises to take the excitement to the limits.

In Division 2 semi final 1, West Bay champions in the Money Express league came up against a determined Welly’s ICC. In the end it was Welly’s ICC defeating West Bay by 32 runs. Kirkpatrick Clarke 54 and Alister Carter 43 led Welly’s ICC to a challenging 166 for 3 wickets. West Bay fighting against the odds could only muster134 giving Welly’s ICC a spot in the final. Wicket takers for Welly’s ICC were Charlie Best, David Howell and Allan Plowright.

The second semi final was even more decisive. C&W Schools’ team led by Ricardo Roach had a comprehensive victory against Team DTA. Ricardo Roach 82n.o and Darren Cato 38 blasted their way to 166 runs for 5 wickets and bowled Team DTA for 60 runs. Kervin Ebanks, Omar Willis, Ricardo Roach and Darren Cato shared the spoils between them.

On Sunday the big boys came out to play and what a fun time it was. Double champions Police against double runners up Prison in Division 1 first semi final. The tables were turned as Prison on an excellent partnership between Kenchand Dindyal 81n.o and Saheed Mohamed 59 scored 183 runs losing only 3 wickets. Marlon Bryan and Greg Shepherd took 1 wicket each for Police. Police made 156 for 8 wickets with chief scorers Pearson Best 49 and Kirkpatrick Clarke 23. Prison won by 27 runs.

By Rite easily defeated Esso by 5 wickets and booked their way into the final against Prison. Esso batting first got off to a flying start with sixteen years old Darren Cato taking the fight to national bowlers Kenute Tulloch and Conroy Wright before in a mix up with his partner he was unfortunately run out for a well played 24. On the fall of Darren’s wicket, By Rite tightened up and limited Esso to 130 runs with Franklin Hinds 48 and Tony Higgins 38 getting amongst the runs. Keniel Irvin 49 and Philip Wight 47 ensured that By Rite moves on.

Comments are closed.