YCLA finalists named

Cayman residents will learn the
name of the recipient of the 2010 Young Caymanian Leadership Award on 20 February.

The honorary board of the Young Caymanian
Leadership Awards recently announced the five finalists for the 2010 award were
Collin Anglin, Tammy Ebanks Bishop, Felix Manzaneres, Melanie McLaughlin and
Krishan Welcome.

The YCLA’s Melissa Wolfe said: “Our
five finalists for 2010 are impressive and very diverse,” noting that they had
various backgrounds, professions and passions. 

“What they share is a combined and
sincere dedication to Cayman’s youth and the future of the Cayman Islands.  Every single finalist is a role model on many

Mrs. Wolfe said being nominated was
the first part of the process and that becoming one the five finalists was the
next step. 

A panel of judges from the honorary
YCLA board reviews and assesses each nomination received and makes recommendations
for the top five.  

“That’s a difficult task because of
the quality and calibre of the nominations,” Mrs. Wolfe said.

The next step is a video interview.  Each honorary board member watches the interview
and gives scores based on various criteria. 
Each scorecard is individually sealed in envelopes and calculated by a
third party, accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers, to keep the name of the
recipient a secret, Mrs. Wolfe explained.

The name of the YCLA winner is revealed
during a live television broadcast during a gala event at The Ritz-Carlton on
20 February.

Elroy Bryan, a senior teacher and teacher
of Physical Education at the Lighthouse School, was the 2009 recipient.

“All of the finalists are winners
and we have now been given the responsibility to help others to realise their
potential as they can also strive to overcome whatever challenges they may
face,” Mr. Brown said.

For more information on the 2010 Young
Caymanian Leadership Award, contact Melissa Wolfe at [email protected]

Comments are closed.