Caymanian musicians receive honours during Muzaic Festival

The Cayman Music and Entertainment Association honoured those among its ranks during the fifth annual Muzaic Festival held at the Harquail Theatre on 1 July. 

Though a meagre audience came to support the local musicians, the ceremony to honour the artists was a vibrant expression of song and musicianship. 

Honours bestowed on the evening included: The Icon Award, which was presented to Dalmain Ebanks in special recognition of a lifetime of consistent contribution in entertainment and pioneering the cultural development of music in the Cayman Islands. The Long Service Award was presented to Errol Grant, Irving Hernandez, Jeff Japal, Rexford Watler, Christopher Bowring and Earl Lapierre in special recognition of 30 years of consistent contribution in music and entertainment in the Cayman Islands. 

In special recognition of years of consistent contribution in the field of music education and development in the Cayman Islands an award sponsored by the Ministry of Education was presented to Junior Jennings of Jennings School of Music. 

The Regional Success Award presented to Stuart Wilson in special recognition of his achievements in the field of recording on a regional level for the year 2012. 

This year the Jazzy B Award was given to Susan Watson in special recognition of her being one of the long serving radio disc jockeys in the Cayman Islands. The award was sponsored by Paramount Media, owners of Vibe 98.9FM, where Jazzy worked as an on air disc jockey up until his passing in 2009. 

The Young Musician of the Year Award was presented to Beneil Miller as the outstanding young musician of the year for 2011. 

Honours for Album of the Year went to Swanky for “Sand Dance”. 

Song of the Year 2012 went to The IZ for their song “Whine,” which was a collaborative effort between the group and Soca Star Machel Montanno. The song is also up for two International Soca Awards at the Tenth Annual International Soca Awards in Trinidad and Tobago this year for best video and best collaboration.  

Club DJ of the Year 2012 was given to Ralph Lewis in recognition for his many years of contribution as a disc jockey in the Cayman Islands. 

The Premier Award was given to CMEA Immediate Past President Jean-Eric Smith, who was awarded for his efforts to move the music industry forward. Muzaic is a large part of his legacy as the now former president of CMEA.  

“The Muzaic has been in existence for five years now and it is with great pride that we recognise those among us who are striving in the arena of music and entertainment. It is this pride that will make our local endeavours even more viable and is also the foundation for anything regard that others outside of our shores will have for our musical product,” Mr. Smith said. 

Muzaic 6

Gordon Solomon gave a signature performance at the Muzaic Award Ceremony. – PHOTO: STUART WILSON

Muzaic 1

Mr. Smith

Muzaic 2

Mr. Lapierre

Muzaic 3

Mr. Jennings

Muzaic 4

Mr. Hernandez

Muzaic 5

Ms Watler