Millers sail to Premier’s Cup

The third annual Premier’s Cup catboat race was held in the North Sound in 10- to 15-knot winds.

Two-time winner, Capt. Kem Jackson, was absent due to family commitments so everyone else was eager to win the crown this month and add points toward the Camana Bay-Cayman Catboat Club National Championship 2013, awarded at the end of the year.

A 12-mile course, set out by the Catboat Club, featured a start that copied the latest Americas Cup races with an off-the-wind start at Captain Garvin Park, a first leg along the shoreline to Morgan’s Harbor, then a 6-mile beat to the main North Sound Channel, a run back to Morgan’s Harbor and a fast reach to the finish line.

The start saw Crosby and Bobby Jo Ebanks on See Her Go hitting the line at the gun, followed closely by Rommel and Sterling Ebanks in Blue Bayou and Jerris and Ned Miller in the Camana Bay-sponsored Whittaker Cat. By the turning mark at Morgan’s Harbor, Whittaker Cat had moved up to second before a one-hour battle with See Her Go all the way to the main channel, with Blue Bayou in close pursuit.

At the windward mark, the fleet had started to separate with everyone working the wind to gain or claw back distance.

At the finish line, it was Whittaker Cat in first, See Her Go finishing second and Blue Bayou in third.

Trophy presentations will take place at the official opening of the new Cayman Catboat Club headquarters on North Church Street, at a date to be announced.

The national championship points standings see Whittaker Cat first with four points and Kem Jackson and Captain D with five points and tied for second with Blue Bayou and See Her Go. Skipper Roy Bush and Brac Cat are tied for fifth on eight points with John Bodden and Chisholm Cat. Johnson Mendoza is skipper of the Mendoza Cat, which is seventh with 10 points.