Many new faces on boards and councils

Cabinet has approved appointments and reappointments to several boards and councils at its recent meetings, according to a summary of decisions released by government.

Among the changes have been new appointments to the boards of the University College of the Cayman Islands, Public Lands Commission, the Medical and Dental Council, the Health Services Authority and the Cayman Islands Airports Authority.

Johann Moxam
Johann Moxam

Johann Moxam is the new chairman of the Cayman Islands Airports Authority. Marva Reid has been appointed as deputy chair, and Roy Grant, Alfred Thompson Jr., Jacqueline Haynes, Nathaniel Tibbetts and Jonathan Edie as directors. The appointments for these new members are for a two-year period.

The CIAA appointments follow the resignation of Thomas Guyton as chairman, Joel Jefferson as deputy chairman, and directors Ernie Bodden, Vanessa Godfrey-Banks and John Meghoo, according to the government gazette.

Gilbert McLean is the new chairman of the UCCI board of governors, with the rest of the board consisting of Jared Awe as deputy chairman, Ronnie Dunn as the minister of finance’s representative, and Nichelle Scott as a member. All these appointments are for terms lasting until 31 Aug. 2024.

- Advertisement -

Woody DaCosta has been appointed as chairman of the Public Lands Commission, with Teddie Ebanks as deputy chairman, and Shanna Myles as a member. DaCosta’s and Myles’ terms are until 31 Aug. 2023, while Ebanks term ends on 30 Nov. this year.

The Medical and Dental Council’s new chairman is Dr. Eugene Foley, with Dr. Komal Lawrence as deputy chairman, and Dr. David Stone, Dr. Sean Childers and April Panton as members. These appointments expire on 1 Sept. 2023.

Last month, Cabinet also approved the appointment of Rudy Ebanks as chairman of the Utility Regulation and Competition Office (OfReg) board for a term of three years. He replaces Linford Pierson, who retired as chairman in May.

Cline Glidden

Also last month, Cline Glidden was appointed chairman of the Port Authority board for a term of two years, following the resignation as chairman of Kearney Gomez. Other appointments to the board were Richard Parchment as deputy chairman, and Irma Arch, Edgar Bodden, Jacqueline Scott-Rankine,  Matthew Adam and Carilee Giovani Bolen as members.

Changes were also made to the Pharmacy Council last month, when Cabinet appointed Dr. Marla Barnes to serve as chair. Cabinet also appointed Rudy Myles as deputy chair of the Pharmacy Council. Other appointments to the council included Todd Jefferson, Winsome Jefferson and Kevin Gipple as members. All the appointments are until 30 June 2022.

- Advertisement -

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now