Next year’s public holidays begin with a long weekend for the new year, with Jan. 2 designated as a holiday, as Jan. 1 falls on a Sunday.

The list of public holidays for 2017 was announced this week after Deputy Governor Franz Manderson approved the dates.

There will be 11 public holidays throughout the year.

Monday, Jan. 2 – New Year’s Day (observed)
Monday, Jan. 23 – National Heroes Day
Wednesday, March 1 – Ash Wednesday
Friday, April 14 – Good Friday
Monday, April 17 – Easter Monday
Monday, May 15 – Discovery Day
Monday, June 19 – Queen’s Birthday
Monday, July 3 – Constitution Day
Monday, Nov. 13 – Remembrance Day
Monday, Dec. 25 – Christmas Day
Tuesday, Dec. 26 – Boxing Day

Support local journalism. Subscribe to the all-access pass for the Cayman Compass.

Subscribe now